Rivers Gov swear in eight commissioner

The Victor Oko-Jumbo-led faction of the Rivers State House of Assembly screened and confirmed eight nominees for commissioner positions on Tuesday. The screening took place at the temporary legislative chambers within the state Government House.


The Oko-Jumbo-led three-member legislature is loyal to Governor Siminalayi Fubara. The commissioner designates are set to fill vacancies created by the recent resignation of nine commissioners who were loyal to Federal Capital Territory Minister, Chief Nyesom Wike.

During the session, Oko-Jumbo read a correspondence from the governor requesting the screening and confirmation of the nominees. He emphasized the assembly’s commitment to supporting the governor in delivering democracy dividends to the people of Rivers State.

The factional speaker highlighted that the screening was part of the assembly’s responsibilities in the governance of the state.

House Leader Mr. Sokari Good-boy and Deputy Speaker Adolphus Timothy unanimously adopted the governor’s request. They noted that most of the nominees had previously served the state in various capacities without blemish.

The confirmed commissioner designates are Mr. Charles Bakee, Mr. Collins Onunwo, Dr. Peter Medee, Mr. Elloka Amadi, Mr. Basoene Benibo, Mr. Sydney Gbara, Dr. Ovy Chukwuma, and Mr. Solomon Eke.

About Correspondent

Check Also

Tinubu Pledges Overhaul of Amnesty Programme for N’Delta Beneficiaries

By Chuks Peter, DELTA President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has declared a comprehensive revamp of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *