PSC confirms Abubakar as DIG, Promotes 122 Senior Officers

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has announced a significant reshuffling within the Nigeria Police Force, including the promotion of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) Yahaya Sahabo Abubakar to the rank of Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG).

Abubakar, who was previously in charge of Zone 14 Katsina, will now represent the North East in the Police Management Team, succeeding DIG Habu Sani, who recently retired from his role in the Force Intelligence Bureau.

In addition to Abubakar’s promotion, the PSC has elevated 122 other senior police officers.

This includes the promotion of 10 Commissioners of Police to AIGs, 15 Deputy Commissioners of Police to substantive Commissioners, and 36 Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners.

Furthermore, 61 Chief Superintendents of Police were promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioners of Police.

The PSC’s Head of Press and Public Relations, Ikechukwu Ani, stated that these decisions were made during an extraordinary Management Meeting held on June 6, 2024, and presided over by the Commission’s Chairman, Solomon Arase.

The promotions were contingent upon the officers passing a compulsory interactive promotion interview, a standard requirement for advancing to the next rank.

During the interactive sessions, Chairman Arase emphasised the evolving nature of crime and the importance of adapting to changes brought about by advancements in information and communication technology.

He stressed that effective policing and internal security management must be informed by strategic planning, standard operating procedures, and tactical operations.

Arase urged the newly promoted officers to be fully committed to their responsibilities in safeguarding the nation by protecting lives and property, preventing and containing crime.

Among the newly promoted AIGs are Ahmed Ammani, former CP Enugu, now in the ICT Department at Force Headquarters; Mohammed Dankwara Adamu, Deputy Commandant of the Police Academy, Wudil Kano; and Gumel Mohammed Usaini, CP of Kano State Command.

Other promoted AIGs include Hamzat Adebola Ayinde, CP Oyo State Command; Okuoma Idegwu Basil, CP Elections, Force Headquarters Abuja; Achinyan Zachary’s Fera, CP FCID Enugu; Baba Zango Ibrahim, CP DFA, FCID Abuja; Mohammed Isyaku, CP Admin, FCID Annex Lagos; and CP Margaret Agebe Ochalla, CP Police Special Fraud Unit Annex Lagos.

Promoted to Commissioners of Police are DCP Bassey Samuel Ewah, DC Admin, Department of Operations, Force Headquarters; Osagie John Agans-Irabor, SCID, Benue State Command; DCP Edem Ita Selong, Admin and Finance, Zone 9 Umuahia; and DCP Monday Agbonika, Interpol Annex Lagos.

Other Deputy Commissioners promoted to CPs include Michael Okoh from Zone 9 Umuahia, Ayodele Oluyemi Sonubi from Oyo State Command, Iyama Daniel Edobor from Bayelsa State Command, and several others from various departments and zones across the country.

The 36 Assistant Commissioners of Police promoted to Deputy Commissioners include officers such as Obo Ukam Obo, Musibau Adeola Adedoyin, Lawal Bamidele Adeshina, and Anthony Okon Placid.

Others promoted are Onyeamu Akaeme Onyeamu from Enugu State Command, Suleiman K. Bayonle from Lagos, Asuquo Effiong from the Special Investigation Unit FHQ Abuja, and Mustapha A. Rufai from Auchi, among others.

The list of promoted officers has been forwarded to the Inspector General of Police (IGP) for implementation and further necessary actions.

This major shake-up within the Nigeria Police Force is expected to enhance the operational efficiency and effectiveness of the police in maintaining law and order across the nation.

About Funmilayo Ojo

Funmilayo Ojo is a Mass Communication Graduate. She is a prolific writer and a journalist who is gifted in Media works. She is also a business tycoon. She is currently the Regional Editor, of Southwest National Telescope Newspaper. She is happily married to Femi and they are blessed with lovely kids. Email:

Check Also

Tinubu Pledges Overhaul of Amnesty Programme for N’Delta Beneficiaries

By Chuks Peter, DELTA President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has declared a comprehensive revamp of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *