NAUS Constitutes Member Committee on Covid-19

By Daniel Ayantoye

In a bid to support in the fight against the world’s pandemic Coronavirus also know as Covid-19, the National Association of University Students (NAUS) has constituted a 32 Member National Committee.

NAUS made the disclosure in a statement signed by the National President, Comr. Felix Simon Ijegalu, and made available to CAMPUS FOCUS by the Committee Publicity Secretary, Comr. Adewoyin Tijani Adekola on Monday, 4th May, 2020.

The statement read: “The World has recently been struck hard by a novel virus and this pandemic has since taken many lives and ruptured economies leaving people all over the world vulnerable to either hunger, fear, sickness or death.

“The federal government of Nigeria like other governments around the world has created committees and empowered other agencies to oversee the welfare of the masses. The Nigerian government, in order to prevent the rapid spread of the virus initiated a lockdown and in turn shared some palliative materials.

“Regrettably, the palliatives have only been received by a very small percentage of the Nigerian populace.

“Apparently, this is a trying time for the world, and Nigerians in particular; most especially the Nigerian university students.

“Therefore, National Association of University Students in an attempt to join and complement government’s efforts towards combating the pandemic, constituted a committee that will:

According to the statement, the committee which is expected to resume duty with immediate effect is saddled with the following responsibilities: “Monitor and assist measure (s) taken by Nigerian Center for Disease Control and the Federal Ministry of Health on Covid19 and the effort (s) put in place to combat the disease; Educate Nigerian university students both home and abroad on the nature of the virus as presented by the world health organization.

Other duties are; “to solicit and distribute palliative(s) to vulnerable Nigeria University Students; Create subcommittees for every state in Nigeria to carryout functions similar to that of this committee which will be supervised by this committee; To create a committee for vulnerable Nigeria university students studying abroad as well as carryout any other function(s) not stated by this document that does not violate the ethics of the Association as enshrined in its constitution, in order to care and provide for the Nigerian university students.

Members of the committee include: Comr. Salihu Muhammed as Chairman, Comr. Ajibowu Gafar Alabi as Vice Chairman, Comr.Samaila A. Sammani – Secretary, Comr. Aridiogo David Aruson – Contact and logistics, Comr. Gbande Abraham – Organizing Secretary and Comr. Adewoyin Tijani Adekola as Publicity Secretary.

Other Members are: Comr. Shuaibu Zainab Princess, Comr.Abubakar M. Saleh, Comr. Shauib Yahaya, Comr. Abubakar Sadiq Bello, Comr. Nwachukwu David, Comr. Hadiza Goni Muktar as Technical Adviser, Adebeyi Damilare, Christopher John Abari, Godwin Naallah Pabong, Adams Adieza Mathew, Comr. Emanuel Aniedu, Comr. Okwu Austin, Friday Eggah Daniel, Comr. Oladoja Habeeb Olawale, Comr. Odilichukwu Frances Jombo, Comr. Ajiboye seyi Samson, Barr. Adinu Ikechukwu – Legal Adviser, Comr. Ndu Ifenna malachy, Comr Alhaji muazu Sagir, Comr Abduljawad Mohammed, S. A Program, Comr. kenechukwu odenigbo, Comr. Lily Onyinye Orji, Comr. Oji Francis, Lale-Obele Isaac and Okwesilieze Cyracus.

About Correspondent

Check Also

Federal Workers Demand Unpaid Wages, Issue 72-Hour Ultimatum to Government

Federal workers in Nigeria have issued a 72-hour ultimatum to the Bola Tinubu-led Federal Government …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *